Education Ministers Action Group (EMAG)

19 January, 2017, Education Ministers Action Group (EMAG)

(19CCEM 2015 to 20CCEM 2018)

The Education Ministers Action Group (EMAG) was formed at the 19th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers (19CCEM) in The Bahamas, June 2015 with the purpose of guiding delivery of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for education in the Commonwealth, and providing strategic direction and advice in following up on points agreed at the 19CCEM and presented as the Nassau Declaration. In this regard, the first EMAG meeting took place at Commonwealth Secretariat’s headquarters at Marlborough House, London, on 21-22 January 2016. One of the key outcomes of the meeting was translating the Nassau Declaration into actionable items as outlined in the  Nassau Declaration Action Plan. The second meeting took place at Marlborough House on 19-20 January 2017.

The Action Plan will take forward the implementation of the items articulated in the Nassau Declaration. Some of these key areas include:

  • Policy frameworks
  • The spirit of sharing/spirit of giving
  • Research collaborations and partnerships
  • 20CCEM
  • Cross-commonwealth education developments
  • Preparing for SDG delivery and establishing the Commonwealth Accelerated Development Mechanism for Education (CADME) Technical Working Group
  • Quality in education
  • ICT and teachers
  • Scholarships
  • Gender
  • Advocacy

It is envisioned that this action plan will form the basis for reporting on the Nassau Declaration’s key deliverables at the next EMAG (scheduled for February 2017) and a final report will be presented at the 20CCEM in 2018 in Fiji.

For more information please contact the facilitator.

Group Photo

21 January, 2016, Education Ministers Action Group (EMAG)